What is the Praxis Test?

The Praxis test is a series of exams administered (and managed) by the Education Testing Service (ETS) across the continental United States and any other U.S. territory. In most states, it is a crucial part of becoming a teacher.

Praxis tests were, and continue to be, crafted with a fundamental purpose — to create an evaluative technique that addresses the educational oversight community’s knowledge regarding how to calculate Praxis score to accurately determine if a test taker with a passing grade meet Praxis state requirements. 

What is the Praxis Test — Section I?

Praxis test requirements are applied in a large majority of eligible states. The first section of the Praxis test requirements (i.e., Praxis) is designed to assess each teacher-trained candidate in the following teacher-related CASE core curricula — Core Academic Skills for Educators.  

Featured Programs

What is the Praxis Test — Section II?

The Praxis’ second section (now known as the Subject Assessments) test results are the portion of the Praxis Test that evaluates educators in specific test subjects.  It is also the part of the Praxis test that each state modifies to meet the state’s specific educator requirements. A partial list includes: 

  • Art
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Education
  • English Language Arts
  • General Science
  • History
  • Math
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Social Sciences
  • Special Education

Generally speaking, most states require a new teacher to successfully pass both sections of the Praxis test before starting their teaching fieldwork or internship.  

How Hard is the Special Education Praxis?

The short answer is that the true difficulty associated with sitting for the Praxis special education assessment exam is directly contingent upon each of the choices we make each day, all day. It is the test-taker who determines just how hard is the special education Praxis test.

Important & Miscellaneous Information Regarding Praxis State Requirements

How to calculate Praxis score? First, a final score is a primary determinant of whether a test-taker passes or fails the Praxis test. A Praxis test-takers raw score is equal to the number of questions you answered correctly. Test-takers are advised to answer each question because a wrong answer has NO impact on how to calculate the Praxis score. Most states require a minimum score of 60 to pass this teaching credential exam.

How many times can you take the Praxis test? The good news is, according to ETS (The Education Testing Service that administers the test) there are no limits or restrictions as to how many times can you take the Praxis exam. However, each test retake must be spaced apart from one another by a minimum of three weeks.

Do Praxis scores expire? The answer to the question — Do Praxis scores expire? — is a resounding yes; however, a Praxis test score remains valid for up to nine years, plus eleven months, or until a state determines a Praxis score is no longer valid.   

How does a Praxis Test-taker receive their Praxis Test Results? A Praxis test-taker will receive their testing results through their pre-established Praxis Account. Your test results are accessible through your Praxis Account and forwarded to up to four institutions of higher education that you have chosen before sitting for the exam. Scores revealed digitally beginning in July 2017 will be accessible online for one decade.   

Can You Take the Praxis Test Without Having an Education Degree?

Those students interested in working towards their teaching license have the option of taking the Praxis test without an education degree in hand. Because passing the Praxis exam is almost always a fundamental part of the licensure requirements to teach in public schools, many Praxis test-takers sit for the exam before they have fully earned their educational degree.

Related Rankings: